Skip to content
March 21, 2011 / Candice

Ignorance is bliss… sometimes.

As I’m sitting in some hole-in-the-wall bar in Wisconsin over the weekend with my sister and some of her friends I thought to myself, “These people don’t give a shit about anything happening in the world. Lucky ignorant bastards.” They’re not bad people, in fact, quite the opposite, but I just couldn’t get the passed the idea that if I mentioned “Gadhafi” they’d all look at me like I was insane. “Who…what…huh? What the hell? Is that even a word?” It was a strange world to be in. (Insert some witty joke about Wisconsin here. I’m not feeling very clever.)

But then I realized, I’m not too far off from those people. I used to be all uber-immersed in the world of politics. I used to actually care about every fucking detail about every fucking story that hit the wires that day, week, month, year. Now? Not so much.

I spend my day jamming as much pop culture information into head as humanly possible (I do it so you don’t have to. You’re welcome.) and since I must use Twitter to do my job, I get the meat of what’s happening in the world, but details? Meh. I don’t have time for stinkin’ details, unless we’re talking about how much it will cost you to buy Jennifer Aniston’s house. ($48 mil, in case you’re wondering.)

The thing is, with my job I get to know what people who use the internet really care about, and let me tell you, it’s not politics. The political stuff I write doesn’t perform nearly as well as the stuff about stars getting into a fight on “Celebrity Apprentice.” That’s not even just speculation, there’s actual data to back up my statement. The first time I heard “Yeah…political stories don’t perform well.” my heart sank. I wanted to say, “Huh? How is that possible? People really don’t care?”

Will defunding NPR get people talking about the merits of federal subsidies? No. However, it will get people talking about how they watched Sesame Street when they were 5 and this one time, when they didn’t have cable, they watched a great documentary on PBS, but they can’t remember the name of it. Does the fact that our military is helping to bomb the shit out of Libya get people talking about how much it’s going to cost America to be involved in what may become a third war? No. But they will look up a map of Libya to find out where it is in the world or the proper spelling of Gadhafi or Qaddafi.

I guess it all goes back to my biggest gripe about political blogging. It’s all choir preaching. The people in the Internet Beltway are the only people who will read my blog (or any political blog, for that matter). And that’s really only because we share similar views. Even the progressives in my e-circle of acquaintances know what to expect from my libertarian-ish ass. I’m not bringing new news into the world. I’m throwing my opinions out into the universe and the only response I get is “I totally agree Candice, did you see my post on the same subject? LINK.” Or some clever douche baggery about my made up words (like douche baggery) and how I’m wrong and I hate kids/minorities/America/puppies/baby seals. (So a baby seal walks into a club…)

The fact of the matter is, people just don’t care as much as we’d like to believe they do. And I’m starting to believe they’re on to something. I’m not getting all huffy and puffy and having an anxiety attack over some crap that happened in the Senate last week. Mostly because I don’t know what happened in the Senate last week. I do know the House passed the NPR defunding bill and I know Michelle Obama is writing a book on gardening and healthy eating. At this point, the whole “ignorance is bliss” concept is something I feel like I could embrace fully and stop obsessing over politics altogether.

But….









we all know that isn’t going to happen.

It was good while it lasted though.









One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Brian Lehman / Mar 21 2011 9:53 am

    Excellent post, Candice. It is great to see you blogging again.

    I would strongly contend that what you bring to the table is most assuredly worth something. I know, often feeling the same way myself, that it’s hard to believe that sometimes. But you have an honesty and bluntness that is refreshing.

    I think the rest of my thoughts warrant a blog post of their own. See, you helped inspire another small-time blogger who will write a post that other political geeks will read! Wait… that kinda proves your point…

Leave a Reply

