Skip to content
December 15, 2010 / Candice

Parenting Failures Are NOT McDonald’s Problem.

About a 30 seconds in you’ll hear, “Her 6-year old is so drawn to the toys, it’s a fight she just can’t win.” REALLY? When I was six I lost every battle with my mom. She used this age old parenting tactic which worked every damn time, she said, NO. There wasn’t an explanation, there wasn’t a “I’m sorry honey, not today.” It was just a straight up “NO.” And if I, or my sisters asked why, “Because I said so.” If we begged, pleaded, or were otherwise being giant brats, there were no words. Just a quick swat to the behind and we were sent to our rooms. (Oh the humanity!!)

Now, I understand that kids are drawn to toys. They’re fun, exciting, flashy and noisy. But I don’t understand the push to drive the toys out of McDonalds. Why not just get rid of all toys!! I mean, how the hell does this mother even survive going to Walmart or Target? There they have aisles and shelves full of toys. They have little racks right when you walk in the door, FULL OF TOYS! Even in the check-out lanes, MORE TOYS!!!

I get it, the premise of the suit is that McDonalds is pairing a reward (toys) with junk food (burger and fries.) But when I took a look at the McDonalds website, I saw nothing about toys, and nothing about fries. Their happy meal page looks like this:

It lists the Happy Meal options, but the pictures (what kids are drawn to) show the much healthier versions of happy meals. The burger/cheeseburger/nuggets is paired with milk and apple slices. Now, unless your kid is holding you at gun point, you have the choice. If your kid doesn’t want apple slices and milk, then they don’t get McDonalds.

I guess I grew up in a different time. You know, when parents were actually parents. I can remember many occasions when my sisters and I were in the car with my parents and we’d ask, “Can we go to McDonalds?! PLEEEEEASE!!” 99.9999% of the time, they said “No.” and just kept on driving. On the rare occasion when we did get to have fast food, my evil food-nazi mother made us eat all that fatty goodness before we’d even get our toy. Can you believe that woman?! My god!!

The simple fact is, if you don’t like how McDonald’s operates, then don’t eat there. That’s the beauty of the free market. You have the choice. But to demand that they change their operation because you can’t say no to your child is pure bullshit.

The moral of the story: If you fail as a parent, you get to blame someone else. Isn’t America great?!

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. nathalie / Dec 28 2010 8:23 pm

    hahaha, loved this post and i agree with you 99.999999% (ok, 100%, but i liked all of your 9’s) Every action we take as parents shapes our children. If we don’t stay true to our word, they learn that this behavior is acceptable. And if we sue a company because we cant/wont eat somewhere else, they learn that they can blame everyone around them for their own shortcomings, and make some free money doing so. maybe someone should start a ‘better parenting’ campaign using the tried and true slogan, “just say no!”

Leave a Reply

