Skip to content
December 3, 2010 / Candice

I fail at poli-blogging. Here’s why:

When I started this blog, I knew I didn’t want it to be a “news regurgitater” like every other poli-blog site out there. I didn’t want to sit at my computer and link to stories everyone was writing about because, well…it’s unoriginal and my crap gets lost amongst all the other crap out there anyway. (Not that I’m under any delusion that my crap is similar to or better than other crap, it’s all just crap, after all.) But the thing is, if I’m not going to write what everyone else is writing and beg people to link my crap posts in their crap posts and have my ultimate goal be to get a zillion hits every day, then why even write at all?

I guess the answer to that question is, it’s for me, not so much for you. Frankly, I don’t care if anyone reads my blog. (And no one does.) I could cry about it and whine “Boooohooooooooo! I spent my hard earned money creating this badass site and no one reads my crap!! But I’m special and I deserved to be recognized for all my hard work and sacrifice for the good of the people” or some shit. But that’s not true at all.

I’ve been linked a few times, and I do appreciate it. But I won’t beg anyone to link my stuff. In fact, I’ve struggled with this concept for a while. If I can’t get linked on my own merit, what’s the point? I know that’s how it’s done and I get it, but it’s not something I’m willing to do. Also, most of the conservative bloggers who would be prime targets for linking are jackasses, and I wouldn’t bother talking to them anyway, let alone asking them to link my blog. Yet, people do. To each their own… *shrug*

The other reason I fail at poli-blogging is: I hate politics. I do. It’s like being in an abusive relationship. You gain nothing positive out of the relationship, only heartache (or headaches, as it were) and moments of “What the f**k am I doing here?!” But I love him. (politics.) Every time I try to get out of the relationship something sucks me back in. Why? Because it matters. Our government matters. The process matters. Our politician’s constant push to control our lives…matters. The fact that half of the country doesn’t care bothers me. But do I understand the apathy.

I also fail at poli-blogging because I don’t post stuff every day. I do write every day, but most of the time it ends up mostly incoherent and ramble-y and I don’t post it. Or I just stopped caring about it half way through it. It’s hard to stay passionate about politics when it sucks. I stay informed and read my daily news, but for the life of me, I just cannot be passionately supportive of a system that attempts to screw someone every single day.

I also think I fail because I’m unemployed. I have literally all day to read about what’s happening in our world and that’s too much time. It’s too much time to consistently care all day long. There is definitely something to be said about desensitizing people with over-information. Yeah, there’s a lot of bullshit in the political world, but pretty soon it all becomes the same. “Oh really, there’s a corrupt/philandering/lying politician? I’m shocked…SHOCKED!!!” In fact, I think it’s fair to say that nothing really makes me angry anymore simply because it all does. The only thing that changes are the names or parties, otherwise it’s the same shenanigans with a different spin.

I feel I’d be better at this whole poli-blogging thing if my bullshit threshold was higher and I could tolerate the jackassery involved in politics, but I don’t think that’s possible.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Shelley / Dec 6 2010 12:46 pm

    Bologna…. I read ALL your posts!!! I have passed a few along to my “like-minded” friends!! You rock don’t give it up…. WE read and enjoy all of them … Regardless of the subject!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Candice / Dec 6 2010 12:50 pm

    Shelley, you are by far my most favorite and enthusiastic supporter! I love you! 🙂

  3. @robertsmoto / Dec 13 2010 2:09 am

    Agreed, better to rant your own crap.

Leave a Reply

