Skip to content
November 3, 2010 / Candice

Upset of the decade!! Cravaack beats Oberstar!

When I went to bed last night at 2:00am, Chip Cravaack had a 400 vote lead. When I woke up, I had a text message from 4:30 in the morning telling me that Chip Cravaack had won. I flew out of bed, turned on the news and sure enough, CHIP CRAVAACK WON! I sat there…in shock.

Words just cannot express how excited and proud I feel this morning. (Aside from the ‘recount’ business, but I’ll get to that in another post.) This is one of the biggest upsets in MN election history! The fact that an unknown, stay-at-home-dad, retired navy captain and pilot beat 18-term, 50 year Washington insider, “political icon” Jim Oberstar is just….AMAZING. A true David and Goliath story.

I really don’t have much to say here folks. I still feel like I’m dreaming. All the volunteers who put in thousands of hours and Chip’s staff all deserve a round of applause and probably a beer or two. (I’ll buy if we’re ever in the same bar.) They earned it folks. These guys busted their ass and fought an uphill battle the entire way!!

Congrats Congressman Chip Cravaack!!!!! And a CONGRATS STAFF/VOLUNTEERS!!!!!!! You guys don’t get enough credit!! You are awesome!!!!!!

(Ok, I’m done with the excessive use of exclamation marks.)

If you want to read more on this amazing upset, the Star Tribune has a great story. Oberstar ousted after nearly four decades

Leave a Reply

