Skip to content
September 24, 2010 / Candice

Colbert Reports To Capital Hill

My first thought was, “Are you FUCKING KIDDING ME?!?!” I mean, let’s face it, only an absolute idiot would think that Stephen Colbert would be an expert on anything but satire. Apparently Rep. Zoe Lofgren, D-Calif, and also Nancy Pelosi felt that Mr. Colbert was such an expert on the issue of immigrant labor that his testimony would contribute something helpful to the House Judiciary Hearing on Immigration and Farm Labor. Of course, they were wrong. But, try to telling anyone in D.C. they’re wrong, it’s like telling a 700 lb woman that getting a diet coke with her super-sized McDonald’s meal isn’t going to make a difference.

To be honest, I think they invited him because he’s funny. Have you ever watched one of these hearings? Total snooze-fest! I don’t even pay attention! I should but let’s face it, unless it’s something good, like a Representative *CoughHankJohnsonCough* claiming that Guam will capsize if we put more marines on the island, I could care less. I have a feeling the folks on this sub-committee knew it was going to be boring as hell so they tried to find a way to make it somewhat entertaining.

At least, that’s what I’m forcing myself to think.

Don’t get me wrong, I like Colbert. I really do. He’s damn funny. There’s always a little more truth in his humor and I like that. But there’s a place and time for his comedy and a hearing on immigration and farm labor probably isn’t the best time or place. Although, he did work as a migrant worker for ONE whole day, which is more than nearly all Americans are willing to do. I guess he has some insight into the issue, but that does not qualify him to be an expert.

Apparently Rep. John Conyers, D-Mich., chairman of the Judiciary Committee, agreed.

“I would like to recommend that now we got all this attention that you excuse yourself and you let us get on with the three witnesses and all the other members there,” he said. “I’m asking you to leave the committee room completely, and submit your statement.”

But Rep. Zoe Lofgren, D-Calif., the subcommittee chairwoman who invited Colbert to testify, intervened.

“Many are eager to hear his comments,” she said.

Colbert replied that he would leave only at her request.

“I’m here at the invitation of the chairwoman, and if she would like me to remove myself from the hearing room, I am happy to do so,” he said. “I’m only here at her invitation.”

Whether Colbert’s testimony will make a difference remains to be unseen. I have a feeling more people will be talking about “teh funny” instead of the issue of migrant workers and what we should do with them. But whatever, at least we all got a chuckle or three out of it, right?

Leave a Reply

