Skip to content
September 22, 2010 / Candice

Jon Stewart, A Voice of Reason?

I gotta say folks, I’ve become a bigger fan of Stewart over the past few months. He’s done a great job highlighting the absurd shit happening on both sides of the political debate while being funny and honest. Of all the rallies, conventions, and other mass-gatherings of like-minded people, I have to say Jon’s “Rally To Restore Sanity” seems to be one of the only ones that actually speaks to how I feel right now.

Those that control the political conversation are dangerously close to insane. Those of us with a “moderate/center-right/libertarian conservative” views are left out. Ironically, this is where most Americans fit. (Note: I didn’t say “politically active” Americans, we know that’s a completely different demographic.) We’re either not right enough, we’re not left enough. We’re too moderate, we’re too….SANE. I guess to fit into any “group” these days, we have to have to align ourselves with those with the most extreme views, to that I say, BULLSHIT! So you can put me on Team Stewart.

<td style='padding:2px 1px 0px 5px;' colspan='2'Rally to Restore Sanity
The Daily Show With Jon Stewart Mon – Thurs 11p / 10c
www.thedailyshow.com
Daily Show Full Episodes Political Humor Tea Party

I would love to attend the rally. Unfortunately, I’m still unemployed and to be honest with you guys, 10/30 is my birthday, the LAST place I want to be that day is D.C. But I hope it works out for Stewart and his crew, restoring sanity in our political discussion is desperately needed. That said, I have very little faith that “sanity” and “politics” will ever be synonymous.

10 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Brian / Sep 23 2010 3:47 am

    I totally agree. During the whole "Ground Zero Mosque" debate I eagerly awaiting Jon's takedown of some of the insanity out there. He's made a hell of a lot more sense lately than some of our conservative friends.

    • Candice / Sep 23 2010 9:54 am

      That GZM debate (Oh my how easily THAT was tossed aside…) was UGLY!! Almost as ugly as the DE primary. I just can't wrap my mind around the hyper-sensitivity and, I hate to say it, extremity some of our friends are exuding.

  2. Candice / Sep 23 2010 9:20 am

    Yeah, I'm pretty sure I've lost my "RWE" title a looooong time ago. The cult of personality, the INSANE talking points that are being regurgitated (Pamela Gellar comes to mind.), the daily attacks on people (not ideas, mind you)…it's just too much! Like Jon Stewart says, "take it down a notch, for America!!" LOL I laugh, but it's true. Nothing can be fixed if all we do is attack our opponents with stupid crap like, "OBAMA IS HITLER!!" Obama isn't even in the same book, nor is he on the same SHELF as Hitler. That said, Nancy Pelosi most certainly is a witch. I just have to find proof. 😉

  3. killtruck / Sep 23 2010 12:33 pm

    I know. I think the Rally for Sanity is hilarious.

    • Candice / Sep 23 2010 10:30 pm

      The funniest thing about it is how annoyed the right is.

      • brainlemon / Sep 24 2010 9:21 am

        Yeah, I know, it's ridiculous. People who should know better whining about being mocked and taking themselves FAR too seriously. Which is funny, because they have no problem mocking other people…

  4. Sarah / Sep 23 2010 12:41 pm

    I no longer identify myself as a member of any party, I generally say libertarian if people ask, but if I had to classify myself, I say "pro-small gov, pro-Constitution." And from now on, those are my two checkpoints for my beliefs. I look at how much government it involves and if it's something that would go against the Constitution. For example, since y'all are talking about the mosque – I totally understand why people are upset – understand it to death! LOL. But we can't be for the Constitution in some instances and not in others and then turn around and get mad when people like Obama or Pelosi do things we find to be anti-Constitution, because he was pointing out how people like Beck will say, "Oh, look, we can't do this because it's not constitutional" and then turns around and throws a hissy about something like the mosque.

    And I don't care if people call Obama or Bush "Hitler" or make movies about their deaths or whatever, they have that right too, but I have the right to think they are all a bunch of a fucktards and not take them seriously. LOL

    I wouldn't call myself a moderate by any means, but I think the RWEs are losing sight of what we're about (small gov/Constitution) and more focused on just getting what they want at this point. Which is sad because it started off well.

    And I'm also not sure I like injecting Christianity into it. Don't get me wrong, I think they have just as much freedom to practice their religion anywhere as do Muslims, and that gets me just as mad, but I don't like mixing it with politics. Even, like, I'm super pro-life, but it has NOTHING to do with religion. It's about 1) science and 2) the Constitution IMO. I do believe life begins at conception because of scientific evidence and I do believe the Constitution promises EVERYONE who has been given life the right to it. That's my personal thing. So… IDK, I'm way OT here, but I'm just so disgusted lately with the right…just as much as I am w/ the left.

  5. Sarah / Sep 23 2010 1:32 pm

    I no longer identify myself as a member of any party, I generally say libertarian if people ask, but if I had to classify myself, I say "pro-small gov, pro-Constitution." And from now on, those are my two checkpoints for my beliefs. I look at how much government it involves and if it's something that would go against the Constitution. For example, since y'all are talking about the mosque – I totally understand why people are upset – understand it to death! LOL. But we can't be for the Constitution in some instances and not in others and then turn around and get mad when people like Obama or Pelosi do things we find to be anti-Constitution, because he was pointing out how people like Beck will say, "Oh, look, we can't do this because it's not constitutional" and then turns around and throws a hissy about something like the mosque.

    • Candice / Sep 23 2010 10:32 pm

      Dude, i seriously didn't know which comment to post…so I posted both. If you want me to remove one, I can. LOL

      You make some very good points. The problem is the double standard on both sides. It's always been a lot of, "It's ok for us…just not for you….sorry champ." I'm just glad more people are noticing and calling bullshit.

  6. Sarah / Sep 25 2010 2:04 am

    Ohhh, the longer one is the right one. I posted it on my way out the door, got back & it was still pulled up but looked like it didn't do anything (there was like an error message) so I tried to post it again and well, IDK what happened beyond that. LOL.

Leave a Reply

