Skip to content
August 16, 2010 / Candice

The Individual (Right). An introduction, of sorts.

The smallest minority on earth is the individual. Those who deny individual rights cannot claim to be defenders of minorities. - Ayn Rand

This quote by Ayn Rand has been sitting around just waiting to be used. So what better time to utilize it than in my “introductory post”? The problem with discussing “the individual”, as it pertains to rights, in a blog post is that it tends to get long winded. (Believe me, I’ve written this post a dozen times and not once has it been under 2,000 words. But my goal is to avoid a blog-ertation [like a dissertation, but in a blog post. Yep, just made it up.]) The thing is, I’m not trying to write this to explain to you how everyone under the sun views individual rights, my mission is to explain my view and hopefully give you a little insight into my belief system.

I’m going to preemptively, and hopefully quickly explain property rights (LOL! I’m going to try, shut up!), since this tends to confuse some people. When I write of property rights, I do not solely mean “land ownership rights”. I mean “property” as you, your mind, your work and the fruits of your labor (earnings). This is important to understand because if you don’t have a right to your “property”, you are a slave. This doesn’t mean you’re a slave if you go to work, because you contract your abilities to your employer who then pays you for your work. It’s a free will transaction, you choose to offer you/your mind/your work in exchange for payment, thus your pay (fruits of your labor) becomes your “property” and the things you buy with your “fruits” thus become your “property”. (Read this if you want more information/clarification: Property Rights.)

“Property rights” and “individual rights” are interchangeable, I cannot have individual rights without that fundamental law that I am the owner and operator of my life and property. The only stipulation (if you can call it that) is that I cannot infringe on your same rights while exercising mine. And, in an ideal world, everyone would follow those simple rules. But as we all know, our world is less than ideal for these types of conditions. That’s why we have government, whose sole purpose is to protect our individual rights. But that’s a big huge failure too.

Our government has done nothing but increasingly trample on our individual rights. The government doesn’t care about “protecting” you, it only cares about how it can make you feel guilty for living your life because others can’t sustain life independently. Those in power could care less about the individual, or even the minorities they claim to be attempting to protect and help, their sole concern is maintaining power by nearly any means necessary. The government has no problem telling you how to live your life. “It’s for your own good. You clearly aren’t capable of thinking for yourself, therefore, we will legislate your entire life for you. Its for the greater good/children/America/blah blah blah…”. I can’t think of much in my life that exists without some form of government over regulation. Ok, that’s a lie, the only thing that really truly exists without government interference is my mind. And even that’s questionable since I went to public school, but more on THAT another time. And don’t even get me started on the imaginary “thought police”. Yes, I do have free will, I can choose to break the laws and do what I want. But I also know that there are consequences for doing that, so I won’t.

The point is, the most basic fundamental right is to live. I am in charge of my own life, just as you are in charge of yours. As long as you don’t harm me and my liberty in the pursuit of your happiness, we will get along just fine. Or, in other words, mind your own damn business jerkface, I’m not bothering you, nor harming you in anyway, so shut the hell up and get the hell out of my way!

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Andy / Aug 16 2010 1:37 am

    Not bad, for a rookie:-)

    • Candice / Aug 16 2010 9:30 am

      Haha! I’m only kind of a rookie. But this blog is new, so I guess it still pertains. 🙂

Leave a Reply

